My first “musings” on my Wedding Day Make-up

lm-post-So my wedding day is fast approaching and I will be doing my own make-up for the big day! I also knew that I wanted to do my make-up for the wedding, after all don’t I know my face better than anyone? Haha Friends have told me that it may be less stressful to have someone else do my make-up that day but to me that is 1000x more stressful! What if it’s not what I want? What if they use products I’m not familiar with that melt off my face?? To me, doing my make-up IS relaxing. Whether I’m getting ready for work or getting ready for a night out I love doing my make-up, it’s almost like a zen moment in my day for me as crazy as that sounds. And that’s how I will feel on my wedding day too. So here’s what I’ve been thinking…

Screen Shot 2017-07-05 at 5.23.13 PM  Screen Shot 2017-03-28 at 11.40.42 AM

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I want my make-up the day of to me light, yet defined, pretty, and sweat-proof (since I plan to dance my face off.. not my makeup haha). I’m currently deciding on 1 of 2 foundations to use, Estee Lauder Double Wear or my Urban Decay All-Nighter. Some of you are probably thinking, wait I thought you said light? Yes these are VERY full coverage foundations in my opinion but can be applied with a beauty blender to sheer them out while still providing an even base that will look great in photos. Both of these foundations keep my oil at bay and last for hours. We are doing a first look for the wedding which helps as my make-up will be more freshly appled, but I still want to look good in all the candids and snapchats what will surely take place at the reception 🙂 My ONLYYYY issue with the UD collection is that all the shades run a litttttle yellow on me so I would probably have to mix a few to get a perfect shade. So I would have to have it down to a science to recreate the perfect concoction the day of. Not a huge issue but something to consider.

Screen Shot 2017-07-05 at 5.24.47 PMFor blush I want something that truly gives just a beautiful flush to the cheeks that makes me look natural and glowy, as a bride should right? I have recently been intrigued by the Hourglass blushes as they definitely have a sheen to them from what I’ve seen and read. I haven’t tested them out myself yet but I definitely want to pick them up and get a good feel of them for the wedding day.

Lashes I am thinking that individual false lashes may be the way to go. My sister in law got married recently and I wore strip lashes. Let me just say as the maid of honor I bawled my eyes out during my speech and my strip lashes were pretty much done after that (I ripped them off and continued crying haha) With individual lashes I feel that even if 1 or 2 inevitably fall off I will still be okay.

Screen Shot 2017-07-05 at 5.19.03 PMAs for lips this might be the toughest one. Right now my favorite lip is my Sephora Cream Lip Stain Liquid Lip in #06 Pink Souffle. The entire Sephora Lip Stain collection is amazing. SOOOOO long-wearing and affordable (only $14.00 and they have tonsss of colors to choose from. I have several and they are all amazing) But Pink Souffle is just PERFECT.

 

 

Screen Shot 2017-07-05 at 5.22.01 PMMy other thought for lips is the Anastasia Beverly Hills Liquid Lip in “Lovely”. A pretty nude-pink that gives enough color to the lips but not too much. Both these options would be amazing so I’m going to have a tough time deciding!

If anyone has suggestions or has used any of these products on their wedding day I would love to hear how they worked for you! Until then I will keep testing them out to make my final decision!!!

Lashes and Musings,

Kristen

Leave a Reply

